About Us » Leadership


Fr. Peter Martinez, President
Fr. Peter Martinez started as President of St. John Paul II High School and Bishop Garriga Middle Preparatory School in March of 2016.  He is part of the team appointed by the bishop that founded St. John Paul II High School in 2006.

Fr. Martinez was ordained for the Diocese of Corpus Christi June 12, 2004 and has served as Director of Religious Education for the Diocese of Corpus Christi, Parochial Vicar at St. Theresa and Ss. Cyril & Methodius, Chaplain & Director of Development for St. John Paul II High School, and Pastor of St. Paul the Apostle Parish. He currently lives in residence and assists St. Philip the Apostle Parish.

He holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Philosophy and Latin American Studies from the Pontifical College Josephinum, and Master of Arts Degree in Theological Studies & Divinity from the University of St. Thomas.

Fr. Martinez is born and raised in Corpus Christi and graduated from Corpus Christi Academy, the current home of St. John Paul II High School. 
Michael Edghill, Principal
Michael Edghill started as Principal of St. John Paul II High School in July of 2019.  Mr. Edghill has spent his entire professional career in Catholic education.  This includes serving as Principal of Notre Dame Catholic School in Wichita Falls, Texas from 2015-2019 and working as a Department Chair, teacher, club moderator, and coach at Nolan Catholic High School in Fort Worth, Texas from 2006-2015.

He holds a Bachelors in History and a Masters in Government in which his thesis work focused on applying St. Thomas Aquinas's Just War doctrine to the drug wars in Latin America and the Caribbean.  In addition, Mr. Edghill has earned a Graduate Certificate in Catholic School Leadership from Creighton University.

Mr. Edghill has been married to his wife, Shirelle, since May of 2002 and together, with God's grace, they have been blessed with four children; Ethan, Andrew, Mary Kathryn, and Thomas.  As time permits, Mr. Edghill enjoys watching various sports, especially his Houston Astros, Houston Rockets, and Dallas Cowboys.
2020-2021 Advisory Council
  • Deacon Fred Castillo
  • Michael San Miguel
  • Raynardo Arellano
  • Mel Galvan
  • Regina Garcia-Posada
  • Mari Palmatier
  • Fire Chief Robert Rocha
  • Maria San Miguel
  • Rose Wind
  • Fr. Rodolfo D. Vasquez
Advisory Council
  • Rosemary Henry Ph.D., Superintendent
  • Fr. Peter Martinez, President
  • Michael Edghill, Principal StJPIIHS
  • Norma Castaneda, Principal BGMPS
  • Barbara Little, Development
  • Veronica Maxwell, PTO